The Dark is Rising Reading Order
dark is rising reading order banner art

The Dark is Rising series has won numerous awards, and has become one of the first fantasy book series to appeal to a middle-grade audience, yet still remain entertaining for adults as well! This is the Dark is Rising reading order. Enjoy!

What’s on The Dark is Rising Reading Order?

The Dark is Rising series by Susan Cooper only consists of 5 books, but they are some of the best fantasy books ever written for younger readers. I highly recommend each and every one of them. They start with Over Sea, Under Stone, though some of the most important characters in the series don’t arrive until later books.

However, they all read well in order, so we hope you enjoy this timeline that puts them all together. If you see anything that isn’t right, be sure to let us know. You can do this on our contact page. We love to hear your feedback and we try to respond to every email if we can.

Where to Start Reading the Dark is Rising Series?

It’s easy to say where to start on this timeline. Start at the beginning. However, The Dark is Rising can be read on its own, even though it’s the second book in the series.

Additionally, if you liked this timeline, be sure to check out some of our others, such as our Dagger and Coin timeline. Or just start browsing! We’re sure you will find something that you like somewhere on the site.

1BuyOver Sea, Under StoneNovelSusan CooperDark is Rising1965-05-01
2BuyThe Dark is RisingNovelSusan CooperDark is Rising1973-04-01
3BuyGreenwitchNovelSusan CooperDark is Rising1974-01-01
4BuyThe Grey KingNovelSusan CooperDark is Rising1975-10-01
5BuySilver on the TreeNovelSusan CooperDark is Rising1977-09-01
Support for MythBank

This website is made possible by your support on Patreon.

If you like our attempts to study and document mythical storytelling and want exclusive reader rewards, your support on Patreon would be tremendously appreciated, and will help keep the site alive!


All comments.