Star Wars Canon Timeline

Perhaps the greatest franchise in existence. This is the Star Wars Canon timeline, every canonical corner of the Star Wars universe.

What’s in the Star Wars Canon Timeline?

We only include material on this timeline if it is canon. All licensed material beginning in 2015 and moving forward will be part of this timeline. The only pre-2015 material that is currently included is the films, the Clone Wars, and Rebels, novelizations of the films/show, a few story-group approved novels, and Rebels tie-in material.  This timeline includes the following:

  • The Official Films: The original 6 films, and all official films released by Lucasfilm since 2015.
  • Star Wars Television: The Clone Wars, Star Wars Rebels and any non-parody animated and live-action shows since then.
  • Books: Any adult and junior novels released since September of 2014, starting with A New Dawn.
  • Comics: Any official canon comics since Darth Maul: Son of Dathomir.
  • Short Stories: Some canon short stories included in various magazines and other outlets.

Where to Start Reading/Watching Star Wars Canon?

Getting into the canon can be daunting, particularly if you have no idea where to start. Thankfully most of the books and comics stand on their own and don’t need much Star Wars knowledge for you to understand what’s going on. If you’re a fan of the new films, we recommend starting with the Aftermath trilogy or Bloodline. Thrawn is another really good book about the origin story of a new character you won’t find in the films. Or you could simply start chronologically and work from there. This timeline basically sums up all of the canon stories and assembles them in an easy-to-follow timeline for your convenience.

Feel free to click on individual items to see more information! As always, if you have questions or comments about this timeline, we recommend you visit our Contact page for ways to contact us. We hope you enjoy.




Sequel Trilogy Era


Delilah S. Dawson



Sequel Trilogy Era


Rebecca Roanhorse



Sequel Trilogy Era

Junior Novel

Cavan Scott



Sequel Trilogy Era

Junior Novel

Justina Ireland



All Eras

Junior Novel

Delilah S. Dawson



Sequel Trilogy Era

Graphic Novel

Ethan Sacks



Sequel Trilogy Era


Colin Trevorrow
Derek Connolly



Sequel Trilogy Era


Rae Carson


  1. Brist

    Red Four comic

  2. Sam

    Hi Jason.

    I’m working my way down your list and I just finished Adventures: Raiders of the Lost Gundark. It’s not the best, very much for kids but nonetheless, I’d say the placement for it should be after Episode I and before Queen’s Shadow and not where it currently is. This is because Padmé is still Queen of Naboo and Jar Jar knows her identity, so it must be after the events of TPM and before she is asked to become senator.

    Cheers. Loving all your work!

  3. J. Vieira

    This timeline is very very helpful, thank you very much for your effort. Yet i noticed that Obi-Wan & Anakin (the comics) took place in the year 29 BBY, while Queen’s Shadow (the novel) took place one year after (28 BBY). So i believe Queen’s Shadow should be placed after Obi-Wan & Anakin.

  4. Nicholas T Hummer

    Your literally the hero we all deserve! Thank you for this well thought out timeline

  5. plasmamushroom

    hi I have been consuming everything on this timeline in order and i just got to Vader dark visions and shouldn’t it take place sometime after star wars rebels because the rebels show up multiple times in the comics and i don’t think the rebellion should exist at that point in time but I’m no expert so I’m probably wrong. btw I really love this timeline it’s super useful and seems really thought out so thanks

  6. Bence

    You’re my hero.I really appreciate this timeline. Now it’s time to go to that far far away galaxy.

  7. Tony Ley

    Hey, Jason!
    Thank you for what must he an absolutely exhaustive amount of work on all the the timelines you maintain. It’s deeply appreciated.
    I’ve been consuming everything in chronological order and as I near the end of reading Pirate’s Price, there’s a moment that puts the book in a different place although I’m not sure where.
    It’s listed as being before Rogue One.
    The story is Hondo telling Bazine Netal stories from his past adventures.
    As the story, “Hondo and Maz Save the Day” opens, Hondo describes Takodana to Bazine, “…and so how could you not be familiar with Takodana and, especially, Maz Kanata’s magnificent castle? Or I should say, her once-magnificent castle.”
    Near the end of that same story Hondo, Chewie, Han and Maz are captured and the Falcon is about to be taken apart in a chop shop on Takodana.
    Hondo tells the chop shop leader…
    “But the ship…it has a history. It fought in the Rebellion. It blew up the Death Star.”
    “Two Death Stars!” shouted Solo.
    I’m not sure exactly where it lies in the latest trilogy, but it seems to be several years after Maz’s castle is destroyed…maybe even after Rise of Skywalker?
    Not sure but i wanted to help out even though you SERIOUSLY did all the heavy-lifting for all of us putting all of this together.
    Thank you again for all the hard work and the constant updates every 10 weeks.
    Stay safe and May the Force Be with You.

  8. Vern

    Thank you so very much for doing this! I love going through stuff in order! I noticed that Disney Plus lists episodes differently. For example,, Rebels Season 1 Episode 6 is called Rise of the Old Masters

  9. Hadhod

    Have you considered having a way to be notified when the timelines update? You have a wealth of information here and once I get through the chronological canon I would like to be able to consume new SW media and know where it falls in the chronology. If you have this already in place sorry I missed it and how can I sign up?

    1. Jason Hamilton

      I usually post about it on the Facebook page, but other than that there’s currently no method in place. It’s something I’m thinking about.

  10. Kiran

    i think the age of rebellion comic about tarkin is after rogue one. he mentions them destroying jedha

  11. Travis

    This is by far the most complete canon timeline on the web! I’ve been using this timeline for about a year to organize my collection and guide me to what I need next (chronologically.) Your dedication to this project is greatly appreciated, Jason! Thank you!

    1. Jason Hamilton

      Thank you!

  12. Matt Proctor

    Total labor of love! Fantastic!

  13. Jason G

    I’ve seen a timeline on Star Wars Explained that places the comic “Target Vader” as right before The Empire Strikes Back.
    You have it as before the animated series Rebels. Could you please confirm which is correct?

    Also if a comic is only a single issue can a note be added saying which trade paperback it can be found in, if any? For example Beckett is included in Han Solo: Imperial Cadet. Thank you.

Leave a Comment

Support for MythBank

This website is made possible by your support on Patreon.

If you like our attempts to study and document storytelling and want exclusive reader rewards, your support on Patreon would be tremendously appreciated, and will help keep the site alive!

patreon button

Sign Up

New membership are not allowed.