Space Odyssey Reading Order

The short story that spawned a film that spawned a novelization that spawned a series, the Space Odyssey series has long been considered one of Arthur C. Clarke’s masterpieces. This is the Space Odyssey reading order.

What’s on the Space Odyssey Reading Order?

The Space Odyssey reading order takes the series written by Arthur C. Clarke and places each of the books in chronological order. This includes the film that was produced at the same time as the book. This timeline does not include the comics that were produced shortly after the release of the film.

This timeline also includes the Time Odyssey series which were described by Clarke as being “neither a sequel nor a prequel.” Instead the series is more of a spiritual successor to the original series, taking place in a parallel universe of sorts. Because of their thematic relationship, the two series are both included on this list.

Where to Start?

I would actually recommend you read the 2001: A Space Odyssey novelization, even though it came after the film. It will help you make sense of the film when you see it. Then you can proceed in order from there.

If you liked this timeline, we recommend checking out some of our others, such as the Known Space timeline.

1BuyThe SentinelShort StoryArthur C. Clarke1951-04-01Space OdysseyEarly concepts for 2001
2BuyEncounter in the DawnShort StoryArthur C. Clarke1953-07-01Space OdysseyEarly concepts for 2001
3Buy2001: A Space OdysseyNovelArthur C. Clarke1968-01-01Space Odyssey
4Buy2001: A Space OdysseyFilmStanley Kubrick, Arthur C. Clarke1968-04-02Space Odyssey
5Buy2010: Odyssey TwoNovelArthur C. Clarke1982-12-01Space Odyssey
6Buy2010FilmPeter Hyams1984-12-07Space Odyssey
7Buy2061: Odyssey ThreeNovelArthur C. Clarke1987-12-01Space Odyssey
8Buy3001: The Final OdysseyNovelArthur C. Clarke1997-01-01Space Odyssey
9BuyTime's EyeNovelArthur C. Clarke, Stephen Baxter2003-03-03Time OdysseyNeither prequel nor sequel to Space Odyssey
10BuySunstormNovelArthur C. Clarke, Stephen Baxter2005-03-29Time Odyssey
11BuyFirstbornNovelArthur C. Clarke, Stephen Baxter2007-12-26Time Odyssey
Leave a Comment

Support for MythBank

This website is made possible by your support on Patreon.

If you like our attempts to study and document storytelling and want exclusive reader rewards, your support on Patreon would be tremendously appreciated, and will help keep the site alive!

patreon button

Sign Up

New membership are not allowed.