Sandman Reading Order

sandman reading order banner art

Made famous by Neil Gaiman, the Sandman is one of the more strange characters in DC’s lineup. Read his essential stories.

What’s on this Sandman Reading Order?

The Sandman used to be a normal-enough superhero, until author Neil Gaiman got hold of him and completely reimagined the character. Now he’s one of the weirder characters, but many of his stories are among the best DC has to offer.

This timeline attempts to assemble all of the major Sandman stories in an easy-to-follow order. While it might not contain every single story with the character, it does look at the primary comics.

Where to Start?

You can start anywhere you like on this timeline. You can start with the classic stuff, or move on to the more recent comics. When you see the Volumes begin to start over with number 1, that’s often a good place to start.

As always, if you like this timeline, you might enjoy some of our others, including our massive collection of DC timelines in our DC Comics Hub. And if you see something that needs to be added or changed, be sure to let us know over on our contact page. We love to hear all your feedback! In the meantime, we hope you enjoy this Sandman Reading Order.

1BuyHellblazer: Setting SunGraphic NovelWarren Ellis2004-10-01Vertigo
2BuyHellblazer: Hard TimeGraphic NovelBrian Azzarello2000-12-01Vertigo
3BuyThe Sandman Presents: Dead Boy DetectivesGraphic NovelEd Brubaker2008-08-26Vertigo
4BuyThe Sandman Presents: Taller TalesGraphic NovelBill Willingham2003-11-01Vertigo
5BuyThe Sandman Presents: The FuriesGraphic NovelMike Carey, Neil Gaiman2002-11-01Vertigo
6BuySandman: Endless NightsGraphic NovelNeil Gaiman2013-10-22Vertigo
7BuyThe Sandman Presents: Thessaly, Witch for HireGraphic NovelBill Willingham2005-09-01Vertigo
8BuySandman Mystery Theatre: Sleep of ReasonGraphic NovelJohn Ney Rieber2007-01-01Vertigo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *