riyria reading order banner art

Michael J. Sullivan is one of the most successful independent/hybrid authors out there right now. His Riyria universe has become his more popular world, and now you can experience that in chronological order.

What’s on the Riyria Reading Order?

This timeline includes all of the Riyria books by Michael J. Sullivan in chronological order. These books take place on the world of Elan, and includes all of the novels and short stories that take place on that world. This includes several series of books:

  • The Riyria Revelations books cameĀ first.
  • Riyria Chronicles followed but take place before the first series.
  • The First Empire books take place in the distant past and stand alone.

These three series provide the bulk of the Riyria books, but you will find several short stories as well.

Where do I start reading the Riyria books?

The Riyria books have too good places to start. First, the first books to be published (The Riyria Revelations series) is one good place. But the First Empire series, starting with Age of Myth, is another good place to start because it takes place so far in the past that it stands on its own.

If you find anything that we need to add, edit, or omit, please let us know. We love to hear any feedback you might have to make this timeline and this site better. We hope you enjoy this Riyria reading order! If you do, be sure to check out some of our other timelines, such as the Wheel of Time.

1BuyPile of BonesShort StoryMichael J. Sullivan2020-01-07The First Empire
2BuyAge of MythNovelMichael J. Sullivan2016-06-28The First Empire
3BuyAge of SwordsNovelMichael J. Sullivan2017-07-25The First Empire
4BuyAge of WarNovelMichael J. Sullivan2018-07-03The First Empire
5BuyAge of LegendsNovelMichael J. Sullivan2019-07-09The First Empire
6BuyAge of DeathNovelMichael J. Sullivan2020-02-04The First Empire
7BuyAge of EmpyreNovelMichael J. Sullivan2020-05-05The First Empire
8BuyThe Crown TowerNovelMichael J. Sullivan2013-08-06Riyria Chronicles
9BuyThe Viscount and the WitchShort StoryMichael J. Sullivan2011-10-08Riyria Chronicles
10BuyThe Rose and the ThornNovelMichael J. Sullivan2013-09-17Riyria Chronicles
11BuyThe JesterShort StoryMichael J. Sullivan2014-07-17Riyria Chronicles
12BuyProfessional IntegrityShort StoryMichael J. Sullivan2015-06-03Riyria Chronicles
13BuyThe Death of DulgathNovelMichael J. Sullivan2015-10-15Riyria Chronicles
14BuyThe Disappearance of Winter's DaughterNovelMichael J. Sullivan2018-10-02Riyria Chronicles
15TraditionsShort StoryMichael J. Sullivan2013-01-01Riyria RevelationsIncluded in Triumph Over Tragedy: an Anthology for the Victims of Hurricane Sandy
16BuyTheft of SwordsNovelMichael J. Sullivan2011-11-23Riyria RevelationsCollects The Crown Conspiracy and Avempartha
17BuyRise of EmpireNovelMichael J. Sullivan2011-12-14Riyria RevelationsCollects Nyphron Rising and The Emerald Storm
18BuyHeir of NovronNovelMichael J. Sullivan2012-01-31Riyria RevelationsCollects Wintertide and Percepliquis
Support for MythBank

This website is made possible by your support on Patreon.

If you like our attempts to study and document mythical storytelling and want exclusive reader rewards, your support on Patreon would be tremendously appreciated, and will help keep the site alive!


Latest Posts
Star trek episode order banner art
foundation reading order banner art
cosmere timeline banner art
banner for captain marvel reading order
banner for captain america reading order
banner for the blade reading order
banner for Black Widow Reading Order
banner for black panther reading order
banner for the avengers reading order
firefly timeline banner art
All comments.