Mass Effect Timeline in Chronological Order

mass effect timeline banner art

The Mass Effect franchise started in 2007, but has since grown to include multiple games, comics, novels, and even an anime film. It’s become one of the most innovative RPG game franchises of all time, and one of our favorites here at All Timelines. This is the Mass Effect timeline.

What’s on the Mass Effect Timeline?

This list attempts to create a reading order (or in some cases viewing/playing order) for all major pieces of Mass Effect in chronological order. This includes primarily all video games, novels, films, and comic books.

This list does not attempt to split up any media so that they are read congruently, but rather focuses on an easy to follow reading/playing/watching list. In the event that two works cover the exact same time-frame the one published first is read first.

Additionally the placement within the timeline is often based on where the work ends rather than where it begins. There may be a few exceptions which may be pointed out individually.

Where to Start the Mass Effect Franchise

As with many video gaming franchises, this is a hard question to answer. Naturally, for the story at least, the best place to begin is the first game. But many consider Mass Effect 2 to be the pinacle of the franchise’s acheivement. Plus, the latest game is usually going to have better graphics and potential improvements of its own.

That said, we do recommend the first game, if you haven’t played any of them. In terms of gameplay, it’s simpler than the others, but it’s also crucial to begin to understand the shear scope of these games.

1BuyEvolutionGraphic NovelMac Walters, John Jackson Miller2157 CE2011-09-21
2BuyRevelationNovelDrew Karpyshyn2157 CE2007-05-01
3BuyHe Who Laughs BestGraphic NovelMac Walters, Jeremy Barlow2157 CE2013-05-04Single-issue comic.
4BuyMass EffectGameCasey Hudson2183-2186 CE2007-11-20
5BuyIncursionGraphic NovelMac Walters2183-2186 CE2010-06-21
6BuyRedemptionGraphic NovelMac Walters, John Jackson Miller2183-2186 CE2010-06-08
7BuyFoundation Vol. 1Graphic NovelMac Walters2183-2186 CE2014-02-05
8BuyFoundation Vol. 2Graphic NovelMac Walters2183-2186 CE2014-06-04
9BuyFoundation Vol. 3Graphic NovelMac Walters, Jeremy Barlow2183-2186 CE2014-11-05
10BuyAscensionNovelDrew Karpyshyn2183-2186 CE2008-07-29
11GalaxyGameKevin Barrett2183-2186 CE2009-06-22For mobile devices
12InfiltratorGameJarrad Trudgen2183-2186 CE2012-03-06For mobile devices
13BuyBlasto: Eternity is ForeverGraphic NovelMac Walters2183-2186 CE2012-11-07Single-issue comic.
14BuyMass Effect 2GameCasey Hudson2183-2186 CE2010-01-26
15BuyRetributionNovelDrew Karpyshyn2183-2186 CE2010-07-27
16BuyInvasionGraphic NovelMac Walters, John Jackson Miller2183-2186 CE2012-04-18
17BuyInquisitionGraphic NovelMac Walters2183-2186 CE2010-10-26
18BuyDeceptionNovelWilliam C. Dietz2183-2186 CE2012-01-31Contains several continuity errors, in earlier editions.
19BuyMass Effect: Paragon LostFilmAtsushi Takeuchi2183-2186 CE2012-12-28
20BuyHomeworldsGraphic NovelMac Walters, Jeremy Barlow, Patrick Weekes, John Dombrow, Sylvia Feketekuty2183-2186 CE2012-11-07
21ConvictionGraphic NovelMac Walters2183-2186 CE2011-09-01Single issue mini-comic
22BuyMass Effect 3GameCasey Hudson2183-2186 CE2012-03-06
23BuyNexus UprisingNovelJason M. Hough, K. C. AlexanderUnknown2017-03-21
24BuyMass Effect: AndromedaGameMac WaltersUnknown2017-03-21
25BuyDiscoveryGraphic NovelJeremy Barlow, Mac Walters, John DombrowUnknown2018-01-17
26BuyAnnihilationNovelCatherynne M. ValenteUnknown2018-11-06
27BuyInitiationNovelN. K. Jemisin, Mac WaltersUnknown2017-11-28

2 Responses

  1. Pretty sure they are all in the same area between no 6 and no 10 which are Redemption (comic) and Ascension (novel).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *