Malazan Reading Order

What’s in the Malazan Reading Order?

The Malazan books are primarily written by Steven Erikson, though some are written by Ian C. Esslemont as part of a separate series that intermingles with the main series. Erikson has also written a series of novellas, and recently started a trilogy that takes place thousands of years before the main series. The setting is an epic fantasy world.

We want you to contact us if there’s anything out of order here. We try to keep everything in chronological order, though you can sort by release year if you want. So here is the Malazan Reading Order for those interested in reading the entire saga.

Forge of DarknessNovelSteven Erikson
Fall of LightNovelSteven Erikson
Walk in ShadowNovelSteven Erikson
Dancer’s LamentNovelIan C. Esslemont
Midnight TidesNovelSteven Erikson
Gardens of the MoonNovelSteven Erikson
Night of KnivesNovelIan C. Esslemont
Deadhouse GatesNovelSteven Erikson
Blood FollowsNovellaSteven Erikson
The Lees of Laughter’s EndNovellaSteven Erikson
The Wurms of BlearmouthNovellaSteven Erikson
Memories of IceNovelSteven Erikson
House of ChainsNovelSteven Erikson
The Healthy DeadNovellaSteven Erikson
The BonehuntersNovelSteven Erikson
Reaper’s GaleNovelSteven Erikson
Crack’d Pot TrailNovellaSteven Erikson
Return of the Crimson GuardNovelIan C. Esslemont
Toll the HoundsNovelSteven Erikson
StonewielderNovelIan C. Esslemont
Goats of GloryShort StorySteven Erikson
Dust of DreamsNovelSteven Erikson
Orb Sceptre ThroneNovelIan C. Esslemont
The Crippled GodNovelSteven Erikson
Blood and BoneNovelIan C. Esslemont
AssailNovelIan C. Esslemont
  1. Avatar
    Bob Coogan

    This is a very well thought out and detailed storyline in chronological reading order…

    1.Forge of Darkness
    2.Fall of Light
    3.Walk in Shadow*
    4.Dancer’s Lament
    5.Deadhouse Landing
    6.Kellanved’s Reach
    7.Night of Knives
    8.Blood Follows
    9.The Lees of Laughter’s End
    10.The Wurms of Blearmouth
    11.Gardens of the Moon
    12.Deadhouse Gates
    13.Memories of Ice
    14.The Healthy Dead
    15.Crack’d Pot Trail
    16.The Fiends of Nightmaria
    17.Midnight Tides
    18.House of Chains
    19.The Bonehunters
    20.Return of the Crimson Guard
    21.Reaper’s Gale
    23.Toll the Hounds
    24.Goats of Glory
    26.Blood and Bone
    28.Dust of Dreams
    29.The Crippled God
    30.The God is Not Willing*

    * Book has not written as of yet

    30-32 {Witness Trilogy }…
    This trilogy Takes place 4-5 years after the end of the 10 book series…

Leave a Comment

Support for MythBank

This website is made possible by your support on Patreon.

If you like our attempts to study and document storytelling and want exclusive reader rewards, your support on Patreon would be tremendously appreciated, and will help keep the site alive!

patreon button

Latest Guides
What are the MCU Phases?
  • December 2, 2019
How was Superman created?
  • November 25, 2019
Are MCU Comics Canon?
  • November 18, 2019
Sign Up

New membership are not allowed.