Doom Timeline and Chronology

doom timeline banner art

The franchise that popularized and basically launched an entire genre of video games, Doom has long been hailed as an innovative (and terrifying) game series. Even today, the new games are equally thrilling. This is the Doom timeline.

What’s on the Doom Timeline?

The Doom franchise is tricky to piece together, because some of the tie-in material takes significant artistic liberty. The chronology is uncertain as a result, but this is the chronological timeline as best we can make it. The novels may or may not tie-in well with the games, and the games themselves follow a limited chronology. The franchise was also rebooted with Doom (previously Doom 4) in 2016. This could launch a new continuity for the franchise.

Doom is primarily a series of first-person-shooter games that take place on Mars, where someone has discovered a portal to hell. The result is an uproar of horror action. As with our other timelines, be sure to let us know if we missed something.

Where to Start?

Since the older games are obviously out of date, we recommend starting with the 2016 reboot. However, the old games are readily accessible, more so than most games of that era, and therefore we still recommend playing those at some point, if only for historical reasons.

And remember, if you like this timeline, be sure to check out our others, such as the Gears of War timeline.

1BuyDoomGameTom HallOriginal Series1993-12-10
2BuyDoom (film)FilmAndrzej Bartkowiak2005-10-17Only loosely based on the game.
3BuyDoom II: Hell on EarthGameOriginal Series1994-10-10
4BuyKnee-Deep in the DeadNovelDafydd ab Hugh, Brad Linaweaver1995-08-01
5BuyHell on EarthNovelDafydd ab Hugh, Brad Linaweaver1995-08-01
6BuyInfernal SkyNovelDafydd ab Hugh, Brad Linaweaver1996-06-01
7BuyEndgameNovelDafydd ab Hugh, Brad Linaweaver1996-06-01
8BuyFinal DoomGameTy HaldermanOriginal Series1996-06-17
9BuyDoom 64GameOriginal Series1997-04-04
10BuyDoom 3GameMatthew J. CostelloOriginal Series2004-08-03
11BuyDoom 3: World's on FireNovelMatthew Costello2008-02-26
12BuyDoom 3: MaelstromNovelMatthew Costello2009-03-31
13Doom RPGGameJohn CarmackOriginal Series2005-09-13
14BuyDoom ResurrectionGameTom Mustaine, John CarmackOriginal Series2009-06-26
15Doom II RPGGameKatherine Anna KangOriginal Series2009-11-23
16BuyDoom (2016)GameMarty Stratton, Hugo MartinSeries Reboot2016-05-13Formerly Doom 4. Reboot of the franchise.
17BuyDoom VFRGameMarty Stratton, Hugo MartinSeries Reboot2017-12-01A VR version of portions of the 2016 Doom.
18BuyDoom: AnnihilationFilmTony GiglioSeries Reboot2019-10-01Unclear what continuity this takes place in, if any.
19BuyDoom: EternalGameHugo Martin, Marty StrattonSeries Reboot2020-03-20

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *