Chronicles of Prydain Reading Order

chronicles of prydain reading order banner art

Besides Tolkien’s Middle-earth, few 20th century fantasy series have been around as long as the Chronicles of Prydain. Though a smaller series, it has stuck around since the sixties, even inspiring the Disney film, The Black Cauldron. Check it out!

What’s in the Chronicles of Prydain Reading Order?

The Chronicles of Prydain is a series of older fantasy books by Lloyd Alexander. It is best known for the Disney adaptation of the Black Cauldron.

The entire series consists of only five novels, but also eight short stories. The short stories fleshed out the world of Prydain, and take place before the series of books, so they are placed in that order. The novels draw on a lot of Welsh mythology, despite not being retellings of those myths.

As with all of our timelines, please let us know if something is out of order or missing. We’ll be sure to add it in as soon as we can. Additionally, if you enjoyed this timeline, place visit some of our others, like the Xanth timeline.

Where to start?

Even though there are a lot of short stories that come first chronologically, the best place to start is with the books. Start with The Book of Three, and proceed from there. Once you have read a few books, and have a handle on the world, you can read the short stories.

1BuyColl and His White PigShort StoryLloyd AlexanderStories1999-05-15
2BuyThe Truthful HarpShort StoryLloyd AlexanderStories1999-05-15
3BuyThe FoundlingShort StoryLloyd AlexanderStories1999-05-15
4BuyThe Rascal CrowShort StoryLloyd AlexanderStories1999-05-15
5BuyThe Smith, the Weaver, and the HarperShort StoryLloyd AlexanderStories1999-05-15
6BuyThe StoneShort StoryLloyd AlexanderStories1999-05-15
7BuyThe SwordShort StoryLloyd AlexanderStories1999-05-15
8BuyThe True EnchanterShort StoryLloyd AlexanderStories1999-05-15
9BuyThe Book of ThreeNovelLloyd AlexanderChronicles1964-03-12
10BuyThe Black CauldronNovelLloyd AlexanderChronicles1965-08-05
11BuyThe Castle of LlyrNovelLloyd AlexanderChronicles1966-03-03
12BuyTaran WandererNovelLloyd AlexanderChronicles1967-08-24
13BuyThe High KingNovelLloyd AlexanderChronicles1968-10-27

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *