A Wrinkle in Time Reading Order

wrinkle in time reading order banner art

The Wrinkle in Time series has been around for nearly sixty years. The first book has spawned a Disney film, but did you know that there are multiple series from author Madeleine L’Engle? Some are quite separate, but still have ties to the original Wrinkle in Time book. Check out the Wrinkle in Time timeline.

What’s on the A Wrinkle in Time Reading Order??

Although Madeleine L’Engle has a large cast of recurring characters that intersect in some of her other works, the Wrinkle in Time series is mostly self-contained. You will find other works that are mostly unrelated and we don’t include them on this timeline.

Her two main series are the Kairos and the Cronos series. The Kairos series includes A Wrinkle in Time and the other books that involve those characters and their children.

The Cronos series gives us another set of characters. The Cronos series stands on its own, though some characters from each series appear in other books, so they definitely exist in the same universe.

Where to Start Reading?

Most would say the first book is the best place to start. A Wrinkle in Time is a classic. However, the Chronos series stands on its own. So that may be another good starting point. At least it isn’t burdened by the necessity of foreknowledge.

Additionally, if you like this timeline, you might like some of our others like the Solar Cycle timeline. As usual, be sure to let us know if there’s something we missed or could improve. Thank you, and we hope you enjoy!

1BuyA Wrinkle in TimeNovelMadeleine L’EngleFirst Generation/Time Quintet1962-01-01
2BuyA Wrinkle in Time (film)FilmAva DuVernayFirst Generation/Time Quintet2018-03-09
3BuyA Wind in the DoorNovelMadeleine L’EngleFirst Generation/Time Quintet1973-01-01
4BuyA Swiftly Tilting PlanetNovelMadeleine L’EngleFirst Generation/Time Quintet1978-07-01
5BuyMany WatersNovelMadeleine L’EngleFirst Generation/Time Quintet1986-09-01
6BuyThe Arm of the StarfishNovelMadeleine L’EngleSecond Generation1965-01-01
7BuyDragons in the WatersNovelMadeleine L’EngleSecond Generation1976-04-01
8BuyA House Like a LotusNovelMadeleine L’EngleSecond Generation1984-11-01
9BuyAn Acceptable TimeNovelMadeleine L’EngleSecond Generation1989-10-01
10BuyThe Twenty-four Days Before ChristmasNovelMadeleine L’EngleChronos1984-01-01Seperate series, but some characters crossover.
11BuyA Full House: An Austin Family ChristmasNovelMadeleine L’EngleChronos1999-01-01
12BuyMeet the AustinsNovelMadeleine L’EngleChronos1960-01-01
13BuyThe Moon by NightNovelMadeleine L’EngleChronos1963-01-01
14BuyThe Young UnicornsNovelMadeleine L’EngleChronos1968-01-01
15BuyA Ring of Endless LightNovelMadeleine L’EngleChronos1980-01-01
16BuyThe Anti-MuffinsNovelMadeleine L’EngleChronos1980-01-01
17BuyTroubling a StarNovelMadeleine L’EngleChronos1994-09-30

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *